Dodgers set record with 11 runs in first inning of Game 3, knock Kyle Wright out

Originally posted on Larry Brown Sports | By Larry Brown | Last updated 10/14/20

The Los Angeles Dodgers lost the first two games of the NLCS against the Atlanta Braves, but they set out to change that in Game 3 on Wednesday with a record-breaking start.

The Dodgers batted around in the first inning of Game 3 at Globe Life Field in Arlington, Texas, put up 11 runs, and knocked Braves starter Kyle Wright out of the game.

Corey Seager got the scoring started with an RBI double in the first. Will Smith made it 2-0 with an RBI double. Then the Dodgers really started to roll with two outs. Cody Bellinger walked, Joc Pederson followed with a 3-run home run to make it 5-0, and then Edwin Rios went back-to-back with a solo home run to make it 6-0.

Wright was finally removed after walking Chris Taylor. The six runs he allowed were as many as the entire team gave up in their previous six postseason games. He was charged with a seventh, meaning he was responsible for more runs allowed in one inning than the Braves had allowed throughout the playoffs prior to the game.

Grant Dayton entered in relief of Wright and didn’t fare much better. He allowed a walk and run-scoring single to make it 7-0. And then things got even worse with a Max Muncy grand slam to make it 11-0.

To continue reading the full article, click HERE.

20 Unbreakable NFL Career Records

Written by TZ McD at Gunaxin

The National Football League has been around since 1920 when it was called the American Professional Football Association. It wasn’t until 1922 that the league changed the name to what we now know it by, the NFL. During the past, almost 100 years, the NFL has had plenty of records broken especially in the passing game. Now that teams have become more pass-happy, records are being tossed out the window monthly.

Drew Brees, for example, now owns six NFL passing records and he broke them all after 2011. Peyton Manning owns a ton of them too and he just keeps breaking his own records year after year. Are there any records in the NFL that are sacred and nearly impossible to surpass?

For a good long time, it was looking like the single season NFL sack record was going to be one but in 2001, Michael Strahan got credited for 0.5 sacks to move past Mark Gastineau with 22.5 in a season and become the All-Time NFL Single Season Leader. Just last season, Justin Houston finished with 22 sacks and almost dethroned the king.

We’ve managed to find a few records that look like they might be able to handle the pressure and stand the test of time. These records might be recent or they might be old, the one thing they share is that they just might not be broken. Despite the changing landscape in the NFL, these marks appear safe, for now.

AP MVP Awards: Peyton Manning – 5

Peyton Manning 1 560x373

The 2009 MVP award belonged to Drew Brees yet for some reason, Peyton Manning won it becoming the first player in NFL history to win it 4 times. Then he brought another home in 2013 to end any debates we might have over just how good he still is.

To continue reading this article, click here