2019 NHL All-Star rosters announced

The NHL has announced the four rosters for the 2019 All-Star Game today, scheduled to be held on January 26th in San Jose. Earlier today, Alex Ovechkin, who was elected captain of Metropolitan Division squad, told the league that he wouldn’t be attending and will accept the punishment of missing one game either before or after the break. Connor McDavid, Nathan MacKinnon, and Auston Matthews will represent the Pacific, Central and Atlantic respectively, as the other captains. A replacement captain for Ovechkin has yet to be named.

The full rosters are as follows:

Pacific Division

John Gibson (ANA)
Marc-Andre Fleury (VGK)

D Erik Karlsson (SJS)
Brent Burns (SJS)
Drew Doughty (LAK)

Connor McDavid (EDM)*
Johnny Gaudreau (CGY)
Joe Pavelski (SJS)
F Elias Pettersson (VAN)
F Clayton Keller (ARI)

Central Division

Pekka Rinne (NSH)
Devan Dubnyk (MIN)

D Roman Josi (NSH)
D Miro Heiskanen (DAL)

Nathan MacKinnon (COL)*
Mikko Rantanen (COL)
Blake Wheeler (WPG)
Patrick Kane (CHI)

Mark Scheifele (WPG)
F Ryan O’Reilly (STL)

Atlantic Division

Jimmy Howard (DET)
G Carey Price (MTL)

Keith Yandle (FLA)
D Thomas Chabot (OTT)

F Auston Matthews (TOR)*
F Nikita Kucherov (TBL)
F Steven Stamkos (TBL)
John Tavares (TOR)

F David Pastrnak (BOS)
F Jack Eichel (BUF)

Full List

By Zach Leach

Metro Division Wins NHL All Star Game

Written by Kevin Allen at USAToday.com

The three-on-three format is an imperfect way to decide the winner of the NHL All-Star game, but it is still the best format we’ve seen.

“The entertainment value is pretty good,” Boston Bruins goalie Tuukka Rask said.

Hard to argue after New York Rangers defenseman Ryan McDonagh made a game-saving kick save in the closing seconds to allow the Wayne Gretzky-coached Metropolitan Division to defeat the Pacific Division 4-3 in the three-on-three All-Star tournament championship game.

Metropolitan goalie Braden Holtby stopped 17 of 20 shots in his two games of work. Who says players don’t come to All-Star games to compete?

“(The final) felt more like a regular-season three-on-three game,” Holtby said.

With seconds to go, and Holtby pulled out of position, McDonagh sprawled to get his skate on a shot from Ryan Kesler that was headed into the net for the tying goal. The puck flew off McDonagh’s boot and struck the post before bounding away.

“It’s a close game and we are all competitive,” McDonagh said. “We didn’t do very good last year — went out in the first game — and we wanted to do a little bit better and found a way.”

Players could tell that Gretzky was committed to winning. He even successfully used a coach’s challenge to overturn a goal by Edmonton Oilers captain Connor McDavid. Gretzky is an executive with the Oilers organization. Tournament MVP Wayne Simmonds (three goals, eight shots in two games) called that challenge “the game changer.”

“You can tell he has a lot of passion and love for the game,” McDonagh said. “He sees the game so well. He was talking about different plays out there, trying to make adjustments. He used his timeout because he knew we needed a breather.”

Players on the winning team split $1 million in prize money.

“If somebody is going to give you 1 million bucks to split, then you go for it,” Ovechkin said.

To continue reading this article, click here.

NHL Playoff Rosters Revealed

Written by Sportnets Staff at Sportsnet.ca

The NHL released its 2017 All-Star Game rosters on Tuesday.

A fan vote determined each division’s team captain, the results of which were released last week.

The four head coaches for all-star weekend will be Michel Therrien of the Montreal Canadiens (Atlantic), Bruce Boudreau of the Minnesota Wild (Central), John Tortorella of the Columbus Blue Jackets (Metropolitan) and Peter DeBoer of the San Jose Sharks (Pacific).

Each club is represented during All-Star weekend, which runs Jan. 27-29 in Los Angeles. The skills competition takes place on Jan. 28 and the all-star 3-on-3 tournament on Jan. 29.

* Indicates team captain


Atlantic Division
Carey Price, G, Montreal Canadiens*
Tuukka Rask, Boston Bruins
Victor Hedman, D, Tampa Bay Lightning
Shea Weber, D, Montreal Canadiens
Erik Karlsson, D, Ottawa Senators
Frans Nielsen, F, Detroit Red Wings
Nikita Kucherov, F, Tampa Bay Lightning
Vincent Trocheck, F, Florida Panthers
Auston Matthews, F, Toronto Maple Leafs
Kyle Okposo, F, Buffalo Sabres
Brad Marchand, F, Boston Bruins

Metropolitan Division
Sidney Crosby, C, Pittsburgh Penguins*
Sergei Bobrovsky, G, Columbus Blue Jackets
Braden Holtby, G, Washington Capitals
Justin Faulk, D, Carolina Hurricanes
Ryan McDonagh, D, New York Rangers
Seth Jones, D, Columbus Blue Jackets
Evgeni Malkin, F, Pittsburgh Penguins
Alex Ovechkin, F, Washington Capitals
John Tavares, F, New York Islanders
Wayne Simmonds, F, Philadelphia Flyers
Taylor Hall, F, New Jersey Devils


Central Division
P.K. Subban, D, Nashville Predators*
Devan Dubnyk, G, Minnesota Wild
Corey Crawford, G, Chicago Blackhawks
Ryan Suter, D, Minnesota Wild
Duncan Keith, D, Chicago Blackhawks
Patrick Kane. F, Chicago Blackhawks
Jonathan Toews, F, Chicago Blackhawks
Tyler Seguin, F, Dallas Stars
Vladimir Tarasenko, F, St. Louis Blues
Patrik Laine, F, Winnipeg Jets
Nathan MacKinnon, F, Colorado Avalanche

Pacific Division
Connor McDavid, C, Edmonton Oilers*
Martin Jones, G, San Jose Sharks
Mike Smith, G, Arizona Coyotes
Cam Fowler, D, Anaheim Ducks
Brent Burns, D, San Jose Sharks
Drew Doughty, D, Los Angeles Kings
Ryan Kesler, F, Anaheim Ducks
Johnny Gaudreau, F, Calgary Flames
Jeff Carter, F, Los Angeles Kings
Bo Horvat, F, Vancouver Canucks
Joe Pavelski, F, San Jose Sharks