Madison Bumgarner’s unique no-hitter will not be recognized by MLB

Originally posted on Larry Brown Sports  |  By Grey Papke  |  Last updated 4/25/21

By the technical definition of the term, Madison Bumgarner threw a no-hitter for the Arizona Diamondbacks on Sunday. It will not go down that way in the MLB record books, though.

The Diamondbacks and Atlanta Braves played a doubleheader on Sunday, and under the league’s current rules, it meant both games would be seven innings long. Bumgarner started the second game and threw a seven-inning complete game, allowing no hits or walks and striking out seven. He actually faced the minimum number of batters possible, as Ozzie Albies reached on a throwing error in the second inning before being erased on a double play.

The Braves treated Bumgarner’s gem as a no-hitter, but the league will not. Under MLB rules, a seven inning no-hitter does not count as an official no-hitter.

To continue reading this article, click HERE.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *